The Razumovsky Quartets

In 1806, Beethoven wrote a series of three quartets for strings, Opus 59, nicknamed the Razumovsky quartets, after the Russian ambassador to Vienna who commissioned them.  This morning I ran across a performance of the first quartet from the work, Beethoven’s 7th String Quartet overall.  The quartet takes a place beside the Kreutzer Sonata and Beethoven’s Violin Concerto as an outstanding work for violin by the composer that I’m coming to greatly appreciate.  As I anticipate the next piece in my Suzuki repertoire, which will be my first Beethoven, I’m reminding myself of how much I’ve always loved his work.

This performance, by a surprisingly young quartet in New England, is fantastic:

Thanks for reading.


One comment

  1. The 22:30 mark is so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: